Phil’s Shoe Box!

phils shoe box

I grew up in a place called Green Acres. When I was really small I would go to Phil’s Shoe Box at Green Acres Plaza for new shoes. I’ve named my series of shoe-themed prints after that place.

Gold foil shoe horn print, Empire Shoes!

Shiny gold foil shoe horn print, Empire Shoes!

Got a whole little shoe shop happening in my Etsy Shop!

There are a lot of extra steps when using gold foil. Black ink is applied last, and prints are set to dry.

There are a lot of extra steps when using gold foil. Black ink is applied last, and prints are set to dry

I printed the shoe horn as a companion piece to the shiny silver Brannock Device I printed last year:

My drawing of the classic Brannock Device. Silk screened in black ink and silver foil!

My drawing of the classic Brannock Device. Silk screened in black ink and silver foil!

Later on, I found myself walking down Yonge Street, and I spotted these abandoned shoes:

Y is for Yonge Street, the longest street in the world

Y is for Yonge Street, the longest street in the world

They gave me the inspiration to go home and draw a bunch of odd shoes for another print:

Found this great antique frame at a local thrift shop

This antique frame I found at a local thrift shop suits this vintage-style print pretty nicely!

One final mini-print, which I just finished yesterday:

Who doesn’t love a shoe sale?

Who doesn’t love a shoe sale?

About Ian Phillips Illustration

I am an illustrator and book designer. View all posts by Ian Phillips Illustration

Leave a Reply

