Collecting: Vintage Toy Whistles

ianphillipsillustration-whistles-09

I’ve been collecting toy whistles for a long time. They are so tiny! The Yellow Cab is only a couple of centimetres wide. Love it!

ianphillipsillustration-whistles-11

It’s the lithographic printing that first attracted my eye, but it’s the cheap quality of these novelty candy prizes that really draws me to them.

ianphillipsillustration-whistles-05

Toy whistles remind me of my grandparents house, I think I must have found a few of these in my father’s belongings when I was a kid.

ianphillipsillustration-whistles-19

Not a whistle, but a harmonica, made of very thin bakelite! Love those colours.

ianphillipsillustration-whistles-13

They were probably cereal premiums or candy box prizes.

Larger copies of these photos and more of the collection can be viewed in my Pinterest Collecting folder.

About Ian Phillips Illustration

I am an illustrator and book designer. View all posts by Ian Phillips Illustration

4 responses to “Collecting: Vintage Toy Whistles

Leave a Reply

