Matthew Barber’s BIG ROMANCE

 

ianphillipsillustration-bigromance-05

Matthew Barber releases

BIG ROMANCE!

At the Dakota Tavern

249 Ossington Avenue
Tuesday June 3rd at 7:00 pm

Get your tickets here
$15 at the door

matthew barber big romance exterior -- ianphillipsillustration

Looking for inspiration for an album cover, Matthew Barber was looking at my nurse romance post on my blog and gave me a call.

ianphillipsillustration-bigromance-03

matthew barber big romance interior -- ianphillipsillustration

This past January he recorded a number of songs about love for a new album and thought it might be fun to have a cover that celebrated the vintage romance genre.

ianphillipsillustration-bigromance-02

I have to thank my friend Katherine in Melbourne for the vintage romance comics that she sent me a while back… They came in very handy as reference material when drawing all the embracing couples that appear throughout the CD packaging. I filled up almost an entire fifty-page sketchbook of drawings and finally selected seven favourites to appear throughout the packaging.

ianphillipsillustration-bigromance-01

It was a pleasure to work with Matthew once again. You can listen to clips and buy his music here.

About Ian Phillips Illustration

I am an illustrator and book designer. View all posts by Ian Phillips Illustration

One response to “Matthew Barber’s BIG ROMANCE

  • Photobooth Journal

    Wow, that is so, so cool that you used the stuff I sent you. It is a fabulous finished product. Matthew Barber must be thrilled! I am guessing that you scheduled this post before going away, so will hear from you on your return, I hope? x K

Leave a Reply

