Inspiration

Last weekend I went to the Art Crawl in Hamilton’s James Street North neighbourhood. Spent most of the day wandering around and exploring the industrial sectors of the city. Took some snapshots:

Weathered signage is a great source of inspiration and reference for hand-lettering

An abundance of rusty old signs were hanging on factories and fences. I love this stuff and often incorporate it into my work. Here’s a sample:

ianphillipsillustration-49smiles

The lettering in my latest giclée print came from photographs I took of rusty old signs. This is my interpretation of the emblematic “49 Miles Scenic Drive” sign one sees all over San Francisco, only I’ve changed “Miles” to “Smiles.” Get yours here.

If you like this sort of thing, there’s a really great book that the publishers and editors at Princeton Architectural Press sent me as a gift a few years back. Edward Fella’s Letters on America. Page after page of his Polaroids of signage and lettering, and samples throughout of what it inspired: his wonderful and decorative hand lettering.

For more information about Hamilton’s art crawl, go here.

About Ian Phillips Illustration

I am an illustrator and book designer. View all posts by Ian Phillips Illustration

Leave a Reply

