A Field Trip – Patterns and Process

Getting ready for my first SURTEX, the annual art-licensing event which takes place in New York every Spring. Pattern design has become part of my day-to-day life, if I am not working on a pattern, I am most probably thinking about one. One of the categories of surface design I am focusing on is florals.

Step 1 in creating a collection of floral patterns was a field trip to the Allan Gardens Conservatory.

The Palm House at Allan Gardens

I got really excited when I spotted these Golden Ball Cacti:

I love the beach ball-shaped cactus and those wavy branches hanging from above

Who can resist a polka-dot cactus?

Step 2: With these plants in mind, I started scribbling in my sketchbook:

caption

Lots of polka-dots

caption

Figuring out how different shapes can work together

Step 3: There are endless variations and I am now working on several cacti patterns. Here’s a sneak peek:

That’s a Cactus Wren sitting on one of the branches

That’s a Cactus Wren sitting on one of the branches

I can never get these to grow

I can never get these to grow

ianphillipsillustration-surtex-banner

About Ian Phillips Illustration

I am an illustrator and book designer. View all posts by Ian Phillips Illustration

One response to “A Field Trip – Patterns and Process

Leave a Reply

