Collecting: Housewares, Part 1

Vintage bottles with glass from three of my favourite studios

One method of supporting local artists is to buy handmade domestic objects for everyday use. At one time everything in our homes was hand made!

Lattice drinking glass and decanter from Arteck Studios, and on the right a tumbler by Mervi Haapakoski of Toronto

I may spend a little more money on a single glass, but I’ve only added one or two pieces to my kitchen cupboard each year. After doing this for a number of years, all my dishes, glassware and cutlery are handmade.

Haapakoski and Arteck next to a vintage Charles Wilson squirrel bottle, dug out of the ground just down the street from my studio

A good way to start a collection is to visit the One Of A Kind Show, which I did yesterday. Artists and craftspeople come from across the country for this event.

I’ve shown it four times, I must really like it! Crown Royal up-cycled decanter from Artech Studios, Haliburton Ontario

On a tight budget this year, so I only picked up a single piece. Hard to choose just one when there was so much fine work on display. One of A Kind continues through December 2nd.

Another fave: Virginia Wilson Toccalino & Tony Toccalino’s Galactic Art Glass studio, Milton Ontario

You don’t need as much sugar in your lemonade when you use Mervi Haapakoski tumblers

About Ian Phillips Illustration

I am an illustrator and book designer. View all posts by Ian Phillips Illustration

4 responses to “Collecting: Housewares, Part 1

  • Photobooth Journal

    Even your cutlery, Ian? I am so impressed! I have a large collection of Aussie hand made ceramics and a bit of glass but mostly decorative items. The ones I use, I use all the time and they are getting a bit chipped and old. It is a pleasure to use my lovely things but each time one bites the dust I mourn.

    • Ian Phillips Illustration

      Oh yeah, cutlery is the hardest thing to find… mostly I see decorated mass-produced stuff, or old cutlery turned into other objects… It will be the topic of part 3. Yeah, when they break, it’s sad, but I think they are more durable than factory made stuff. Working in a ceramic studio, you get used to the heartbreak, especially when you’ve been working on something for a long time and something goes wrong in the kiln.

      • Photobooth Journal

        I so remember that from my University days. I made one piece over a two week period – it was a huge colied sculpture and the glaze f**ked up badly. I cried. First and last time. You have to learn to be tough as a potter.

  • Collecting: Housewares, Part 2 « Ian Phillips

    […] My next post on collecting will feature hand-made cutlery. Part 1: Glass. […]

Leave a Reply

