Portraits by Harvey Chan

This past week I sat for fellow artist and colleague, Harvey Chan who painted my portrait in oil. It’s part of a series he has been working on since attending a painting workshop in Santa Fe.

I first met Harvey when I worked in a design studio that regularly commissioned illustration work from him. A number of years later I joined the same agency he is represented by. I’ve always been inspired by his work.

Harvey says: “The first frontal portrait from the series. Very challenging but I learned a lot through the process of solving problems. I spent most of the three hours just having the drawing semi decent 😦 There are still a lot of things I’d like to adjust at this point…. connecting the light patterns, adjusting value and temperature, overall design, and of course the drawing. Give it a few more hours…”

Harvey also has an online store where he sells beautiful giclee prints of his work. He’s so talented, don’t ya think?

About Ian Phillips Illustration

I am an illustrator and book designer. View all posts by Ian Phillips Illustration

Leave a Reply

